Home > Uncategorized > Get Him to the Greek Review

Get Him to the Greek Review

Today I spent my Sunday at the movies.  I watched two back to back.  It’s been quite some time since I’ve done that.  Love it!  The first one I saw was Get Him To the Greek and the second one Robin Hood.  I’ve got to be honest and tell you upfront that I’m a huge fan of Judd Apatow.  I recently tried to make a list of my favorite films from de past decade and Superbad was one of them.  I enjoy every movie Apatow and his group make. I loved 40-year-old virgin, Knocked Up, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Funny People, Role Models, you name it.  I am also a huge fan of Freaks and Geeks, short-lived television series from Apatow featuring Seth Rogen, Jason Seigel and James Franco.  So, that’s why I went to see this movie on its opening weekend.

In Get Him to the Greek, we are paired up with Jonah Hill and Russell Brand. Russell returns as the hilarious rock star that we saw in Forgetting Sarah Marshall.  Sadly, Russell’s performance is one of the reasons the movie didn’t work for me.  It’s a surprise because I really enjoyed him on Forgetting Sarah Marshall (“please take my eyes, but not the shirt”).  I don’t think it’s the material because if you think of it, he says some pretty funny jokes in the movie.  I think it’s his delivery.  He seemed so lifeless compared to Forgetting Sarah Marshall.  Then again, Alex Snow is pretty depressed through out the whole film.  I still haven’t really figured out why it didn’t work.

Besides from Russell Brand, the main reason why the movie didn’t work for me was because it sacrificed story for jokes.  All those movies I mentioned worked because they focused on the characters and their journeys.  This movie is filled with scenes that consist of a long joke that really didn’t add to the story, like the sex scene between Alex, Aaron and Daphne.  It’s really sad because they could have developed great chemistry between Russell and Jonah.  We got a glimpse of that in the scene where they run away from Puff Daddy.

And speaking of Puff Daddy, yes, there are some positives.  Puff Daddy really gave a great comedy performance.  At the first two scenes, I really didn’t buy into him.  But as the movie went on I enjoyed his performance.

The movie also has some good jokes.  The problem here isn’t about funny material, it’s about characters and story.  Overall, if you are an Apatow fan like me, worst case scenario is that you won’t laugh much and you will have a film that you can’t put in the same category as Superbad, Forgetting Sarah Marshall and 40 Year old virgin.  If you’re not an Apatow fan, beware you might get brain fucked.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

